The 13th IFAC/IFIP/IFORS/IEA Symposium on Analysis, Design, and Evaluation of Human-Machine Systems

IFAC HMS 2016 has been successfully finished

Group Photo at IFAC HMS 2016 Banquet

We would like to express our sincere thanks for the significant contributions of all participants toward the success of the 13th IFAC/IFIP/IFORS/IEA Symposium on Analysis, Design, and Evaluation of Human-Machine Systems, which was held in Kyoto from Aug 30, 2016 through Sep 2, 2016.

There were a total of 125 registered participants from 16 different countries and additional 5 participants including the invited honorary guest from IFAC, keynote speakers and their attended persons. Upon 122 received papers, 44 were accepted as regular papers, 65 papers as invited papers for the thematic sessions, and 3 papers as workshop papers. In the post-symposium proceedings, 110 papers will be included excluding 2 no-show papers.

The 14th symposium will be organized by Prof. Sven Nõmm from Tallinn University of Technology. See you in Estonia, 2019!!

Award Winners

The initial filtering for the best papers was based on the reviews that were given to each paper. After the initial filtering, four senior international committee members judged the quality of the nominated papers based on the technical soundness, awareness of literature, technological contribution, originality of the concepts, style and clarity, technical presentation and importance of results. As a result of that, due to the excellent quality of the selection and of the papers, the following awards were given at the closing ceremony.

Young Author Best Paper Award*

was presented to Frank Michiel Drop, Daan Marinus Pool, Max Mulder, Heinrich H. Bülthoff
for the paper entitled “Constraints in Identification of Multi-Loop Feedforward Human Control Models”

*The best paper presented by PhD student or Post doctoral researcher younger than 35 years, who should be the first and corresponding author of the paper.

American Best Paper Award

was presented to Tamsyn Edwards
for the paper entitled “Multifactor Interactions and the Air Traffic Controller: The Interaction of Situation Awareness and Workload in Association with Automation”

European Best Paper Award

was presented to Alexandre Kostenko, Philippe Rusffet, Christine Chauvin, Gilles Coppin
for the paper entitled “A Dynamic Closed-Looped and Multidimensional Model for Mental Workload Evaluation”

Asian Best Paper Award

was presented to Yukio Horiguchi, Takaya Suzuki, Tetsuo Sawaragi, Hiroaki Nakanishi, Tomoharu Takimoto
for the paper entitled “Extracting Train Driver’s Eye-Gaze Patterns Using Graph Clustering”

Award winners

What's New

Award winners was posted.
Information for presenters and notes for participants were posted.
Some amendments were made to the payment procedure.
The online registration and hotel reservation have been closed.
The speaker at Plenary session 1 was changed from Mr. Ise to Mr. Okuchi.
Details about Plenary sessions were updated.
Details about Special Workshop were updated.
Hotel map was posted.
Technical program was updated with minor revisions.
Technical tour will be organized on Sep. 3 (Sat).
Technical program is now available.
Registration and hotel reservation system has opened.
VISA information and invitation requests page is available.
The site has opened.
Financially Supported by
Tateishi Science and Technology Foundation
The Kyoto University Foundation
Kyoto City and the Kyoto Convention & Visitors Bureau
This program is supported by a subsidy from Kyoto City and the Kyoto Convention & Visitors Bureau

Site Menu

Important Dates